On 16th of January, 2021 many Whatsapp users received a notification that stated that the messaging platform has updated their privacy policies and terms of service. The users have been provided with a deadline of 8th February, 2021 to accept these updated policies and continue using the app. Those who do not wish to agree with these new changes are free to delete their accounts.
However, there has been a lot of confusion regarding these new and updated policies and users are suspecting a possibility of data breach.
To further elucidate, there is a mention of “other Facebook Companies” and the manner in which they function and support “services, such as to provide technical infrastructure, delivery and other systems; market our Services; conduct surveys and research for us; protect the safety, security and integrity of users and others; and assist with customer service”.
Hence, it evident that with the newest update, Whatsapp now shares its information with third party service providers as well as other Facebook companies who belong to the stature. While previous updates included a crucial declaration –“your Whatsapp messages will not be shared onto Facebook for others to see. In fact, Facebook will not use your Whatsapp messages for any purpose other than to assist us in operating and providing our Services”, the new update has no mention of this information. Upon deletion of a Whatsapp account, users should also keep in mind that the data stored will not be automatically be deleted. Instead, it will remain stored for a long period of time. It also states that “… when you delete your account, it does not affect your information related to the groups you created or the information other users have relating to you, such as their copy of the messages you sent them.”